DIRECTV & DISH Network Reviews

Add your own review

Review of DISH Network by from lakeland fl on Oct. 1, 2013, 5:27 p.m.
Price/Value
Customer Service
Technology/Equipment
Service Reliability
Overall Rating

do not take channels away from ME

Review of DIRECTV by from Rolling Fork, MS on Sept. 12, 2013, 1:45 a.m.
Price/Value
Customer Service
Technology/Equipment
Service Reliability
Overall Rating

When Katrina hit and we had massive outages everywhere, they didn’t come for months on end and refused to give credit on the bill while we had no service. It was a giant screw you and we left and never looked back.

Review of DIRECTV by from Lake forest, Ca on Sept. 11, 2013, 11:39 p.m.
Price/Value
Customer Service
Technology/Equipment
Service Reliability
Overall Rating

I had directv for over 7 years. Mostly because it was the only provider who offered a channel from my country. I decided to change to cable because i was tired of having that big satellite in my patio and because i could not get hd channels. I think they are just fine.

Review of DIRECTV by from detroit mi on Sept. 11, 2013, 10:09 a.m.
Price/Value
Customer Service
Technology/Equipment
Service Reliability
Overall Rating

free HD TV

Review of DISH Network by from Colorado Springs, CO on Sept. 8, 2013, 1:12 p.m.
Price/Value
Customer Service
Technology/Equipment
Service Reliability
Overall Rating

I don’t have a problem with dish just there customer service is horrible I was recently ending my contract with dish after watching my bill skyrocket in the second year of my contract and being treated like no one in my second year of my contract. I moved from my old house into a new and called dish to cancel. After telling them I was also planning to switch to direct TV because I like there Sunday ticket and they began to tell me how direct TV likes to rip off there customers and charges 300 dollars in the 2nd year and charge 100’s of dollars more than dish network and 20 dollars a month to cancel direct tv and and how much the hopper with sling is better than Direct tv’s Genie so after hearing this i caved and asked her what could they offer me she said they would move me for free and give me the hopper with the sling and 3 joeys with a $20 dollar discount for 10 months and multi sport pack half off for 6 months but I need another 2 year contract to get this deal so i said yes. the install was horrible the guy came and spent more time on the phone with his freinds than installing then had to call his supervisor just to get the satellite to get a signal so after a while he asks to use my restroom i am not rude so I say yes lets just say I struck alot of matches sprayed alot of air freshener and opened alot of windows after he finished but i didn’t run to complain about that I told him he could use the bathroom. everything was fine until I decided to add on channel chiller the horror channel I asked dish if i could add just that channel the lady at customer service said yes but didn’t tell me that was only in Americas top 250 I went back to top 200 and I wasn’t told that the hopper with the sling only has 3 tuners and that the so called 6 shows at once is only with prime time and so is the auto hop the day after. I only watch NCIS and Fox Sundays which I know the times of and can just turn the channel myself. And every month for six months I have to call and remind them about the 20 dollar discount I was told I would be getting. I called one time to complain that my bill was over $ 145 dollars and I had told them that was wrong and my bill shouldn’t be that high and what happened. the rep on the phone told me that my new customer promotions were over I then explained to him what I was offered and he looked into the notes and said oh it is in there he told me to hold on while he talked to his supervisor I was on hold for 15 minutes I guess he thought I was going to just give up and hang up the phone because when he got back on he told me he couldn’t help me he was for dish net sales, why was he answering the phone then he then patched me to customer service department who said it had been fixed and gave me a free paper view certificate every time my bill is wrong they give me a paper view certificate it’s been 6 months and I have 6 paper view certificates finally I told them I want to cancel today and I was calling direct TV today I shouldn’t have to call every month for you guys to stop charging me 145 dollars when i don’t have 145 dollars worth of anything so they gave me starz, showtime and cinemax free for 6 months so i would be quiet got my bill this month and guess what who I am calling dish.

Review of DISH Network by from st louis, mo on Sept. 6, 2013, 2:21 p.m.
Price/Value
Customer Service
Technology/Equipment
Service Reliability
Overall Rating

Consistently use junker receivers and takes 3 to 4 days for replacement
Undercompensate for faulty products
Hammer satellites through clay sewer pipes (knowingly so)
Save non-account holders credit card info for future uses (termination, late payments and fees, etc)

This is the absolute worst company I have ever had to deal with, and I am not even an accountholder! My boyfriend took on the responsibility of having the Dish at our house. The account was in his name, and ONLY his name. First off, while we had the Dish, we had to get it replaced THREE times because their receivers are junk.. Therefore, we always had to pay for insurance because because they always broke. This replacement takes 3 days to get there. It sucks not having a single tv in the house (like during baseball season) and the only way they try to compensate is to offer more products at a discounted rate. After having to replace the receiver the 3rd time, extra products was not an option. All I wanted was to terminate the contract and go with a more reliable company, but I imagine their horrible service is why the termination fee is so hefty. I dealt with the issues, and eventually my boyfriend and I split and he moved out. Left the box (which I returned). A couple months later there was a $140 termination fee on my credit card (they saved the info when I made a payment a year prior). I called them to dispute this and they refused to fix it because “the contract” that was in HIS name, stated that they could save credit numbers and use them when necessary. You know, that 1000-something page contract that you don’t see when you sign for the installation. So, not only did I have to pay $140 for the termination fee for someone elses account, but I also had to fight with my sewer system for 2 weeks before finding out that the installer had stuck the receiver in the middle of my CLAY sewer line in the backyard (the area was marked, the pipe is over 6” in diameter, the man knew). So, even when I thought I was done fighting the neverending battle with the worst company ever, a collection agency calls my ex and tries to collect the same termination fee that they charged by credit card.. and told him they reversed the transaction. They didn’t. So before you think about going with the Dish Network, please reconsider because it will be a huge headache the entire time you have them, and possibly even after you finally get rid of them. and also, don’t try contacting them after the account is closed. They will send you to an automated system and you can’t get past the “account or phone number” info.

Review of DIRECTV by from citra fl on Sept. 3, 2013, 8:56 p.m.
Price/Value
Customer Service
Technology/Equipment
Service Reliability
Overall Rating

Every year new subscribers to dtv get free nfl sunday ticket while long term customers get nothing. How about throwing us a bone DTV?!

Review of DIRECTV by from Roanoke, VA on Aug. 23, 2013, 8:47 a.m.
Price/Value
Customer Service
Technology/Equipment
Service Reliability
Overall Rating

They are great. Had the service for a few years and not one issue. Competitive pay, and excellent customer service.

Review of DIRECTV by from Fort Lauderdale, FL on Aug. 23, 2013, 8:25 a.m.
Price/Value
Customer Service
Technology/Equipment
Service Reliability
Overall Rating

My family has had DirectTV for several years now. Never had a true complaint besides not having any TV during storms. But the customer service is wonderful, so I can’t complain!

Review of DIRECTV by from Miami, FL on Aug. 20, 2013, 9:45 a.m.
Price/Value
Customer Service
Technology/Equipment
Service Reliability
Overall Rating

The service was good, and there are a wide selection of channels. Although some are not free, most of them are. I’m saving a lot compared to DISH Network.

Add your own review